Contributing to the learning of others…

Good morning everyone! I hope you are all having a lovely Easter weekend!

So we have come to the end of my ECMP355 journey and it has been lovely! I have really enjoyed learning from everyone! For our final blog post, we were asked to reflect on how we have contributed to other people’s learning this semester! I think this is a really cool idea, especially considering a lot of the other university classes I have been in have had a “fend for yourself” mentality. So this class was a refreshing change!

Immediately after the course began, I recognised that I have pretty limited knowledge about Ed Tech and teaching considering I am only in my second year, and I very quickly learned that the lots of my classmates were in their final semester of their degree. But I was not going to let that discourage me or get me down! I believe that everyone has something to give and contribute, whether it be big or small. We all can contribute to one another’s learning.

So the first way I contributed to the learning of others was through Twitter. (follow me 😉 ) Admittedly, I was not as active as I could have been on twitter. I was a bit nervous of tweeting things and interacting with people, but by the end of the semester, I do think that I started to gain a bit more confidence and interacted a bit more! I shared some various resources and ideas that I found on Feedly (a fabulous tool, by the way. I used it constantly throughout the semester!) I also retweeted and liked tweets that peers and other educators had shared. Here are some examples:

twitter 1

Quoting tweets is a favourite of mine

twitter 3

twitter 2

Discussing the Learning Project and CAKE!

twitter 4

Resources that I have shared

twitter 5

Resources that I have shared

Another way I contributed to the learning of others was through my blog posts and commenting on other blog posts. A lot of my comments I left on other blogs were encouragements, to spur one another in our ECMP 355 journey! When classmates commented on my blogs, I made sure to respond and encourage them in that way as well.

One example of this was: I received a pingback from Taylor in her post about Powtoon. She had read my blog post about Animoto and incorporated that into her post.

tay2

Snippet of Taylor’s post

tay

Taylor’s comment on my post.

Throughout my Learning project, I found I was able to help others and encourage them with their Learning projects as well. I received a pingback from Kanchan Mankotia as well, in regards to my cakes I have made.

Screen Shot 2017-04-14 at 12.47.46 PM

My comment on her post about her cake.

Here are some additional examples of blog interactions:

blog 1

Comment on my Code post

blog3

Comment on my Carrot Cake

blog 2

Comment on my Black Forest cake

Screen Shot 2017-02-18 at 5.36.08 PM

Giving suggestions to Taylor !

Screen Shot 2017-02-13 at 8.03.50 PM

Giving tips about cakes!

Screen Shot 2017-02-18 at 5.38.08 PM

Encouragement left on Amy‘s blog!

The last medium on interaction for ECMP355 was our google plus community. I don’t really have much to say about this one as I did not really interact much with the group. I am not very tech-y so answering classmate’s questions about tech help would not be beneficial to them. I did appreciate it when others asked these questions though and when they were answered because I often found the answers helpful to me! Overall, the google plus community was not the place for me to be interacting and contributing to the learning of others.

Overall, the google plus community was not the place for me to be interacting and contributing to the learning of others. I found commenting on blogs and replying to people on twitter to be exponentially more engaging and helpful.

Thank you very much to each person who took time out of their day to contribute to my learning. Your contributions have made my learning in this class so much richer and I have come out of this class with a lot more knowledge thanks to my classmates. I hope that I was able to encourage others and support their learning along this journey! Good luck to all of you starting your teaching careers in the fall — you will do great! A big CONGRATS to each of us for completing the next step towards becoming teachers! WOOHOO!

Until next time,

Emily Grace.

Leave a Reply

