Thanks Pinterest!

This week’s cake is brought to you by Pinterest! I decided to challenge myself and instead of following multiple videos to make a cake, I followed different recipes I found on Pinterest.  I am a visual learner so watching videos has always been my go-to. Reading recipes is always a bit more challenging for me as I’m always questioning what it is supposed to look like. However, I was pleasantly surprised at how easy following these recipes was. I am certainly not new to Pinterest, I an avid “pinner.” Although, I am certainly guilty of pinning a ton but never trying those recipes out. Whoops!

So this week I scoured Pinterest to find the perfect lemon cake. Man, there is soooooo many recipes on there!

Here’s just a few: Screen Shot 2017-03-16 at 10.40.18 AM

But I decided to go with this lovely recipe. I have made it once in the past in cupcake form and the cupcakes were divine! So I figured it would be amazing as a cake! I filled the cake with lemon curd. I made the buttercream that was provided in the lemon cake recipe and it was delicious! I also found my inspiration for the decorating on Pinterest, this is what I found: FullSizeRender

I went for a naked, yellow drip cake. I was planning on garnishing the cake with dollops of icing with lemon curls on top. But man oh man, lemon curls are tough and finicky. IMG_0471I decided to opt out on spending hours on twisting lemon peels and stuck a slice of lemon on each icing dollop.

Overall, I really enjoyed Pinterest as a tool to learn how decorate cake! 10/10, would recommend! So if you’re like me and never try out any of your pins, I challenge you to go on your account and try out something you pinned! You wont regret it!

Well, now it’s my turn! Here’s how I did it!

I noticed that this batter was much thicker than the batters I have made in the past. I had to use a spatula to spread out the batter. I also noticed that it did not rise as much as I was expecting so I had to bake a second batch to ensure the height of the cake.

While the cake was cooling, I made the lemon curd and lemon buttercream. The curd was surprisingly easy! Honestly, I was expecting to mess it up but the directions were very easy to follow. The buttercream was also very easy. I added some white gel food colour to the buttercream, just to ensure that the icing was white and bright!

As you might remember, my last filling cake spilt over and made a huge mess. This time I did not overfill the centre and it was all good! YAY! I’m learning!

IMG_0479I was very pleased with my crumb coat/final coat. I then asked my family members and they all agreed that I should stick with my original plan of making a naked cake. So I made a white chocolate ganache, dyed it yellow and poured it over the top of my cake. Once my drips were how I liked them, I allowed the chocolate to set and piped little icing dollops around the edges of my cake. To finish the cake off, I sliced up some lemon wedges and stuck ’em in each of my icing blobs! And it was done!

IMG_0485

My family really enjoyed this cake, to quote my sister “Well I really enjoy it, I’ve eaten 5 pieces already!” Yep, she has probably consumed half this cake herself! Overall, I am very pleased with how this cake turned out. Next time I pipe icing around the edges, I will be sure to mark out each dollop because some of them are pretty close together on this cake.

I think there may be a carrot cake in the near future…I have a fantastic carrot cake recipe that I found on Pinterest. What do you think about that? What is your favorite flavour or style of decorating on a cake? Let me know in the comments and I’ll do my best to give it a try!

Emily Grace.

2 thoughts on “Thanks Pinterest!

Leave a Reply

